The New Hampshire medical marijuana laws were passed in 2013. The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services is in charge of the Therapeutic Cannabis Program. Distribution of Medical Marijuana cards did not take place until December 28th of 2015. A significant number debilitating medical conditions qualify for medical marijuana use in New Hampshire.
What conditions qualify for medical marijuana treatment in New Hampshire?
The medical conditions that qualify for medical marijuana in New Hampshire include:
- Hepatitis C currently receiving antiviral treatment
- Lou Gehrig’s Disease (ALS)
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Chronic pancreatitis
- Spinal cord injury or disease
- Traumatic brain injury
- Or one or more injuries that significantly interferes with daily activities as documented by the patient’s physician.
Any severe debilitating or terminal medical conditions or their treatment that cause one of the following:
- Elevated intraocular pressure
- Chemotherapy-induced anorexia
- Severe pain that has not responded to any medication or surgical procedures or for which other treatment options produces serious side effects
- Constant or severe nausea
- Moderate or severe vomiting
- Severe persistent muscle spasms
Additionally, the department may include, on a case by case basis, any condition determined to be severely debilitating or terminal, based upon the written request of a patient’s recommending physician.
How do I obtain a medical marijuana card in New Hampshire?
According to the NH Department of Health’s website, “to be eligible for the Therapeutic Cannabis Program, your licensed physician or advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) will be required to issue you a written certification that certifies that you have a ‘qualifying medical condition as listen above.’ You must also pay the New Hampshire Marijuana patient registry fee of $50.
Patients must be 18 years or older and a resident of the state of New Hampshire with proof of residency.
Patients must also see a physician for three months prior to receiving a marijuana recommendation.
Where can I find a medical marijuana doctor in NH
Any certified New Hampshire physician can register a patient with the state’s medical marijuana program if they believe it can help treat a debilitating condition.
Where are the medical marijuana dispensaries in NH?
There are currently three dispensaries operating in New Hampshire. The first one opened a few months ago. The state allows only four non-profits “Alternative Treatment Centers” to be open at a time.
What can I buy from a New Hampshire dispensary?
Most marijuana products are available to qualifying New Hampshire Patients. Dispensaries offer cannabis in its flower, edible, and concentrated forms.
Are NH patients protected from discrimination?
Patients and caregivers registered with the NH Department of Health’s medical marijuana program are protected from arrest or prosecution. If they are in possession of more than two ounces of cannabis at one time, patients can still be prosecuted.
The New Hampshire medical marijuana laws explicitly prohibit employers from discriminating against employees or applicants based on their status as a medical cannabis user. However, an employer does not need to provide an employee with written permission to use medical marijuana in the workplace. An employee caught under the influence at work without written consent from the employer can be disciplined.
The Future of the New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Program
The state is expecting their fourth and final dispensary later this year. The list of qualifying conditions can be expanded by the 15-member Therapeutic Use if Cannabis Advisory Council that oversees the states medical marijuana program.